Relief but not joy

Like many of you, I follow some blogs of other moms. Although not Catholic, there is one that I really enjoy reading as she always gets me thinking. As I started reading her post today I came to the realization that when Ben comes home from work everyday, I am RELIEVED but not joyful. I am relieved that I am not alone anymore, relieved that I have extra hands to help me with the girls, relieved that he is home..but not really happy to see him. I’m sure that he is happy to feel needed, but i’m sure that he wants to be wanted as well as needed.

My husband is a man of faith working out in the world. I’m sure many of yours are too. I think somewhere along the way I forgot that his job is every bit as challenging as mine is. He is working with people of little or no faith, no morals, and people with very little patience or understanding of his faith and ideals. He faces temptation in many different ways. But faithfully gets up every morning at 4:45 AM and goes to work so that he can provide for our family. I don’t usually have to get up that early, I don’t even have to get dressed if I don’t want to (though I usually do). I am blessed blessed blessed to have a husband who works hard, doesn’t complain, and who is faithful.

Adding children to the mix of your marriage is not an easy transition. It can be very easy to put your husbands needs to the side when you are busy changing diapers, breastfeeding, wiping runny noses and cleaning up highchairs. I am thankful for the reminder today that my husband needs me too. He needs my support, my affirmation, my love and attention as well as my strength. I remember a family that I stayed with while I was on NET who had a habit of going to the door and greeting whoever was coming home. They would just drop what they were doing and go the door and say hello. What a practical and nice way to make our husbands feel wanted! So if you have a brother, husband, father or even a male friend who is a true warrior for Christ..show him some extra love today and let him know that he is not just needed but loved, appreciated and wanted. That is what I plan to do today!

2 thoughts on “Relief but not joy

Leave a Reply

