You Are Worth It

Worth what you may be asking yourself? I ask myself this pretty regularly. What are we worthy of, as women? For me, as a believer in God, this means that I was worth His son. I was and am worthy of the greatest sacrifice that Heaven has ever known, Jesus Christ..nailed to a tree. Knowing that to be true, how can I apply this to other areas of my life?

For me right now that means taking care of my physical body. A few weeks ago I decided to get back on the Weight Watchers band wagon and start being more mindful of what I am eating. This has been a struggle. When you are looking after little ones who eat/sleep/cry/need diaper changes, there is often very little personal time left to care for yourself. I have had good days and bad days but my weight has not shifted much in these few weeks. I have noticed a change in the way my clothes are fitting however. My post baby belly is slowly going down and I am feeling more confident. I have also started exercising again. Something I was really not keen on doing, but has turned out to be awesome! I’m that person that will make every excuse not to workout but once I finally have, I feel fantastic and am so happy to have done it!

Why is it, that as wives and mothers we find it so easy to put others first and care for everyone but leave so little for ourselves at the end of the day? Do we honestly think that what our family members want is a burned out wife and mama? Sure, everyone else’s needs are looked after but it can leave us feeling resentful, tired and worn. I am hugely in favor of balance in this area. Example, it feels great to cook in a clean kitchen..but if I had cleaned my kitchen tonight when the girls went to bed, I wouldn’t have worked out or had a shower. Another example, it is 2:50pm and Ben will be home in 25-ish minutes..and I look like death. Most days I will go put a clean shirt on, pick up a few toys and put on some mascara and lip gloss. I feel human again and Ben gets to see me looking cute. Win win. Our husbands and our children mean the world to us, but can’t we see that we mean everything to them as well? I’m sure it makes them happy to see us showered, relaxed, and feeling good about ourselves.

It is not always easy, but it is possible. I don’t know what kind of place you’re in right now, but I just wanted to tell you today, that you are worth it. You are worth the effort that it takes to be the best, most lovely, and joyful version of yourself. So go put on your favorite undies super mama and dance in the mirror like you own it! or do whatever makes you feel seriously happy, confident, sexy and relaxed. Remember that today you are worth it. And in case you were wondering, you will be worth it again tomorrow..
2 thoughts on “You Are Worth It

  1. Oh Katie, that was just perfect! You know, I haven't felt 'sexy' in a long time. I haven't given myself permission to. I'm just too blasted busy or tired or unmotivated (sadly, so often the former). SO that's it! I'm going to change this and feel amazing! THANK YOU for this post!

Leave a Reply

