Peach Crisp and other bits

Not much new to report over here I’m afraid. We are taking each day as it comes and giving thanks for the gorgeous weather that we’ve been having. We’ve spent a lot of time up at my mum’s house enjoying the backyard, pool and swing. My girls are keeping me busy as always, but it’s a very happy and blessed busy.

When things are getting a little hectic and there are toys everywhere, I stop and give thanks that our girls are healthy and strong and love to play. When I am wiping down Lucy’s high chair for what feels like the 8 millionth time that day, I am thankful that she has a good appetite and isn’t being fed through tubes. When Ben is working late and I’m tired, I’m thankful that my husband is hard working and dedicated to providing for our family. It’s so easy to see the negative, it is for me anyway..but there are blessings and things to take joy in, if we would only look closer.

I recently saw some peach baskets at the grocery store that I thought would be ideal for carrying all of my cake decorating tidbits as well as spices and the like. For possibly the first time ever, I bought something for the package and not the content. The peaches were quite soft and so they turned out to be the first ever from scratch Peach Crisp I have ever made. You’ve got to love baking that counts both as a dessert, and breakfast! Here’s our crisp about to go into the oven..

To peel the skin off of the peaches, you just have to cut a small X onto the end of the peach without a stem and put it into boiling water for 10-20 seconds. It should come off fairly easily. Then all I did was slice up the peaches, toss them in a bit of orange juice (lemon would be fine too) and then top with crumble topping. For a 9×13 pan I used 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup flour, 1 cup quick oats and about a tbsp of ground cinnamon. Pop it into the oven at 350F for about 30-40 minutes and voila. I’ll be totally honest, this poor crisp didn’t last more than 24 hours in this house. We had it as a snack, as dessert and as breakfast. It could be fairly healthy if you cut down the amount of sugar..but where’s the fun in that really??

Speaking of food, our little Abigail seems to have made up her mind that she wants to start eating ASAP! Every time we sit down to eat a meal, she squawks and moans if we don’t share with her. The other night I put her in my lap to keep her content while I ate my dinner and the little monkey girl grabbed a hunk of garlic toast off of my plate and started gumming it to death! I was shocked to say the least. She is only just 5 months old. I’m trying to hold her off as long as I can, because I think that once she starts solids she is going to chunk up big time. Whenever she sees me eating, she repeats the chewing motion with her mouth, too cute. Here she is enjoying a lovely little bit of green pepper for the very first time.

http://www.youtube.com/get_player

Leave a Reply

