Pro-Life

Yesterday several students were arrested at Carleton University in Ottawa. Five in total. I know one of them personally. It’s the first time that I have ever known anyone who has been arrested with the exception of Ben’s grandmother. Funnily enough, it was for the very same reason. These students weren’t arrested for break and entering, arson, theft or anything that would come to mind. They were arrested for protesting an unpopular opinion on the campus grounds. You can find the pictures here and the video here.

It is with huge hesitation that I write on this topic of abortion. Mostly because I am deeply afraid that I am not knowledgeable enough to argue my position and afraid that I will put my foot in my mouth and really offend someone. So let me start by saying that I have never had an abortion. I don’t know what it is like to be in a position of feeling trapped and scared and unsure as to whether or not I want the baby that is inside of me. I can’t fathom being pregnant and telling myself over and over again that the fetus inside of me is not a life yet, and that I can just do away with it if I so ‘choose’.

I do know something though. I know what it is like to wake up covered in mine and my baby’s blood. I know what it is like to be frantically calling my mother and asking what I should do about it. I know what it’s like to walk into a hospital alone* and wondering where to turn, who to talk to for help…anyone who will listen. I know what it is like to feel unbearable pain as I feel that small baby pass through me with what feels like endless amounts of clots and cramps and devastation. I know what it is like to take a little fetus and put it in a dish in my freezer so that it can someday have a proper burial. I know what it is like to have to tell my husband and all of my friends and family that we are no longer going to be parents. I know what it is like to watch my best friends become pregnant and their beautiful bellies swell and their children kick inside of them. I know what it is like to feel utterly and completely alone, like no one could possibly understand this pain that makes me want to rip my own heart out. I know what it is like to see in everyone’s eyes around me the sadness they feel for me and the helplessness of not being able to change it. Miscarriage is obviously very different than abortion for many reasons. But the outcome is always the same. The end of a life.

This is the only picture I have of me pregnant with the baby we miscarried, whom we later named Rosalie

Abortion is not a woman’s issue. Any woman that claims that, is selfish. It means she wants to do what she wants, when she wants without ever meeting a consequence or taking responsibility for her actions. Abortion does not only affect women. It affects the men in their lives, their husbands or boyfriends, it affects their families, their other children if they have them. It affects the child that is potentially going to be aborted. Doesn’t that child have rights? Because it is only 3 weeks old in the womb, does that make it any less of a person?

Don’t you think that maybe, just maybe God infused that little body with a soul the minute it was conceived? That is what I believe. I know that I am not alone in this belief. There are many, many people who are pro-life but would never say it publicly for fear of being hated for their now politically unacceptable view point. The people who are pro choice often take issue with the very graphic photos of unborn babies destroyed through abortion. Limbs, blood, the works. They don’t want to look at the images because they are disturbing. Of course they are disturbing. Isn’t that the point? We look away because it touches something deep inside of us that we want to push away because it means we might have to rethink our beliefs. We see incredible amounts of violence on the news and in movies but suddenly when it’s real and tiny and helpless it makes us sick to our stomachs…for good reason.

When I was in High School, a friend of mine came to me and told me that she was pregnant. I went into supportive friend mode and said, “Congratulations! you’re going to have a baby!!” She said, “no..I’m not.” And I said…nothing. Nothing. Nothing. To this day it haunts me. I didn’t know what to say. I had never experienced anything resembling this type of conversation in my life. I didn’t know why I thought abortion was wrong at this point, I just felt it. For fear of hurting her more than she was already hurting and for fear of losing our friendship I said nothing. I think about that baby all the time. That baby needed me and I did nothing.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing” -Edmund Burke

It is time to get off of the fence on this topic. It is time that we, myself included stop believing in the pro-life message, and start being the pro-life message. What can we do to get involved? There is so much work to be done. “The harvest is plentiful; but the laborers are few.” Matthew 9:37
There seem to be so many ‘issues’ in the world that need attention. Global warming. Saving whales and all that good stuff. But don’t you think at the end of the day life is the most basic human right that needs defending? Horton said and I’ll repeat it, “A person’s a person no matter how small” Please feel free to weigh on this, even if you disagree with me or just give me an “Amen Sister!” so I know I’m not alone.
10 thoughts on “Pro-Life

  1. First: AMEN, SISTER!When people call or come to my door asking me to support whatever worthy cause they're canvasing for, I always tell them "Until every baby is safe in his mother's womb, your cause will have to wait for my support."Our country is COWARDLY. There are NO laws in Canada regarding abortion. None. That speaks of a government that refuses to actually *lead*. The graphic pictures upset me deeply – which they should. As sad as it is, I really think they have become necessary. The anti-life side has so successfully convinced the public that this is about "choice", that we MUST convince them that this is about BABIES.One last thing, then I'll stop ranting. 🙂 If this were really a women's issue, then there would be a feminist standing in every abortion clinic, making sure GIRL babies were never aborted. But we don't see that happening, do we?

  2. This was so well-written. Your own experience in losing a baby brought tears streaming down my face.I know women are put in difficult situations where they think they have no other choice but to abort their babies; we as a society have a responsibility to show them *better* choices, and to give them the support they need to carry their babies.On that note, you might like this website (I am a big fan)http://www.feministsforlife.org/Also, one very effective way to get involved is the 40 Days for Life campaign. Perhaps you or your readers might be interested in it.http://40daysforlife.com/

  3. Thank you ladies for your positive response! I'm glad to know that I am not alone out there with these beliefs. Jaclyn- I love your point about the feminists not truly being feminist since they don't stop the abortion of girl babies.Jenna- feministsforlife.org is so awesome!!!!Carly- I am so saddened to know you have known the pain of miscarriage as well. You are right to say it is deep and lasting. We never forget the babies we lose and always hold them close to our hearts.

  4. Hi Katie-just joined as a follower and was reading up on some of your older posts. Amen!I also miscarried a baby (who we call Jesse). Born in-between Eli and Leah (hence the gap in the kids' ages). I just recently listened to a podcast by Abby Johnson (who used to work at a Planned Parenthood abortion clinic and had a conversion). It's so worth a listen if you have a chance. It's intersting to hear the other side and how Abby came to experience her conversion to pro-life. http://www.focusonthefamily.com/popups/media_player.aspx?MediaId=%7BDF144307-9C70-4EA0-8E29-DBDAB03B6AFD%7DIn Christ, Kim

  5. Hi Kim, thanks for joining me here :)I have heard some good things about Abby Johnson but haven't yet had a chance to watch the video…i'll go do that now! thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

