An Autumn Soup

During the Fall and Winter months, I really try to make soup part of our weekly meal plan. It’s an easy way to feed a crowd, pump up our veggie intake and gives me an excuse to make/eat bread rolls.

When I first met Ben, I had never in my life eaten pumpkin or squash of any kind. Imagine my surprise when he made Pumpkin Soup for our NET team one night for dinner. I loved it right away, and I still do. It turns out both of our girls are fond of it as well, and I can see it becoming a regular around here. Here is the recipe for the soup which is a cross between his mother’s and his sister’s recipes..and also my absolute favorite bread roll recipe passed down from a lovely family friend named Mildred.

Pumpkin Soup

1 Butternut Squash
1 can diced tomatoes (about 19oz)
1 diced onion
3 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup light coconut milk
1/2 tsp fresh ginger
1/2 tsp minced garlic

Fry onion, garlic and ginger. Add chopped pumpkin, tomatoes and stock. Should be enough liquid to just cover pumpkin. Simmer until pumpkin is soft. Puree soup..I do this in 2 batches in my blender. Add coconut milk, stir it in. Serve with bread rolls or a nice chunk of crusty bread

*If you’re feeling adventurous you can also add a few tablespoons of fish sauce when you add your pumpkin and other liquids to the pot and even some red curry paste or chili powder for some zing.

*eating pumpkin soup tonight for the first time*

Mildred’s Bread Rolls

Combine: 2 tbsp quick rising yeast
4 cups flour

In a separate bowl mix:
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
2 beaten eggs
1/3 cup oil
3 cups warm water

Mix and add to flour mixture. Add 4-5 cups more flour. Let rise for 15 minutes. Knead. Let rise another 15 minutes. Knead and let rise another 15 minutes. Spray muffin tin with PAM and roll dough into two meatball sized balls per muffin tin spot. Cook at 350F for 10-15 minutes. Makes approximately 2 dozen rolls. They also freeze really well. They are also fantastic for breakfast the following morning heated up and smothered in peanut butter.

Totally unrelated but cute is the fact that Abigail has cut her first tooth. She has also decided that crawling is for chumps and she would now like to learn to stand. I am extremely nervous about all of this. I just keep picturing this tiny girl running around our apartment bumping into all kinds of things and getting hurt! She’s so brave, this little one of ours.

I hope that, like us, you are all finding ways to keep warm and create warmth in your homes as this cool weather starts to set in. Much love!

5 thoughts on “An Autumn Soup

  1. Ok. I will try this soup recipe as I've been trying squash soup recipes forEVER and have yet to find one as good as the restaurants make! But you vary between calling it squash and pumpkin… you mean the same things, right?Have you ever had squash as a side dish? cook the squash in the oven for a few hours (with some pierced holes from a knife) then cut it in half when it's good and soft and smells delish. scoop out the flesh (without the seeds, obvy) then mix with a little brown sugar and maple syrup. It's heavenly!!!Tori

  2. Hi Tori,You're right, I do mean squash and pumpkin to be interchangable. That's probably not quite right but whatever..I just like the name Pumpkin Soup over Butternut Squash Soup :)I like to roast BNS in the oven too..never had it with brown sugar and maple syrup before though, will have to try that for sure!

  3. I actually pre-cook my pumpkin in the microwave before I make my soup. It makes it loads faster and you don't have to worry about the seeds getting in the way in the soup. đŸ™‚ I also save the seeds and roast them in the oven with a little oil and seasonings. They're SO tasty!

Leave a Reply

