Advent Calendars

To say that I have an obsession with Advent calendars would be putting it mildly. I can type the words into Google and stare for hours at all of the lovely ideas that people have come up with. Mind boggling. For those of you who have followed my blog since last Advent, you may remember that I decided to make an envelope calendar since I wasn’t able to sew one. This year, with only a few weeks left until the first Sunday of Advent, I can’t honestly say that I will sit down and sew one. Although I may in a last minute burst of creative insanity. There are so many kinds of Advent calendars to choose from, those merely for chocolaty treats to those with ideas for daily family activities or scripture verses. Last year we had a list with an action item for each day.
I can’t remember now if it was because I was pregnant or just because I was over enthusiastic while writing the ideas, but I was overwhelmed by the daily things I had written. By the end of Advent I felt like it was more of a To Do list than a way of really preparing our hearts for Christ. Although not entirely sure what we will be doing this year since Ben will be in New Zealand for half of Advent, I would like to share something very special with you.
My sister Kerri (also Lucy’s Godmother) made the girls a very lovely, albeit girly Advent calendar. She told me that she found the idea online somewhere. Oh, how I wish I could tell you were to find it because it is so gorgeous and unique looking!
The top of the calendar says ‘The lil Andrews Advent Calendar’. Isn’t it sweet? She made it with poster board, scrapbooking paper, and lots of love, I can tell!! The little envelopes are like origami, each day numbered with a flap that folds down once the day has passed. I think I will use this calendar for a daily little chocolate treat and scripture verse. It is hanging on the wall in our living room just waiting to be filled. What a joy!
A few of my favorite online finds for Advent calendars have been here, here, here and here. If you type Advent Calendar into Google, you will find a feast for the eyes. There are so many different styles and ways to use them. I would love to hear if your family partakes in this tradition and if so, what will you be doing to make it special?
4 thoughts on “Advent Calendars

  1. Mine is sooooo close to being complete! I have to paint on 6 more numbers then it'll be ready to hang! I'm pretty pleased with how it turned out. Maybe not a family heirloom, but definitely something my family will enjoy for years to come. In fact, I was so happy with it, I'm making a slightly smaller version to send to my mother. I'm going to wear out my sewing machine!!

  2. Oh, Jaclyn! I would loveeeee to see a picture of your calendar. Although it would be great to have a family heirloom Advent calendar, it certainly is nice to change things up a bit from year to year. I'm sure your mother will be very happy to have a calendar of her very own! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh Katie, I too am obsessed! Sadly though, because I gaze for so long at such GORGEOUS ones, I think, ehhhhh why bother? My skills are only sew-sew (haha, get it? Okay that was lame…).http://fivegreenacres.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/the-owls-have-risen-with-tutorial/Check out this beauty! I love it! I probably wouldn't make something like this, even if I had the skills, time, and patience, because I would rather make something more overtly Christian, but MAN oh MAN how cute is it?! Oh… now I will go melt and eat pie, as that is the only proper response to such cute Advent-y goodness.

  4. Sew-sew! Bahahaha! I love a good-bad joke. The owls are so cute. I must admit that I am surprised you like them, as I thought you had a thing about birds? ๐Ÿ™‚ I hear you on the 'ehhh why bother?' I'm finding it hard to get motivated. I would rather living vicariously through others pictures. I wish the word vicariously had an internet version, like living internetiously…that would be us!

Leave a Reply

