Feast of St. Nicholas

Our girls, and NET girls, woke to a lovely surprise from St. Nicholas. Gold coins in their shoes and new books for Lucy and Abigail. I love this little tradition of ours in particular. We followed it up by a nice brunch of scrambled eggs, bacon, homemade bread, orange juice and tea. It was great having Ben with us for the day since it happened to be his usual day off.
Since starting this tradition last year I have come to really love this litte tradition of ours. I have heard from many families about how they celebrate this feast day. One of our NET girls comes from a family of 10 children and each year they receive an ornament with their initials on the back of it. After Christmas, their ornaments are kept in their own box for when they move away someday. Other people put treats in stockings, or buy each child new slippers and fill them with treats. No matter what way we celebrate it, the feast of St. Nicholas is by far one of my favorites. I would love to hear about how your family celebrates this special and generous Saint. Blessings to you!
2 thoughts on “Feast of St. Nicholas

  1. *sigh*In my haste to finish our Christmas shopping over the weekend, I totally forgot to get anything together for the kids for this feast day. I remembered Sunday night, once it was too late to figure anything out. Luckily, Francis pointed out we'd just bought new mittens for both kids that they didn't know about – so into their boots they went! 🙂 Last year, Norah got her boots (with treats inside) on the feast of St. Nicholas, so we've sort of decided (by default!) that part of our tradition will be that the kids receive a new piece of warm winter gear. 🙂

  2. I think a new piece of warm winter gear is a fabulous idea! They're going to need it anyway, right? Don't worry too much about it, if that had happened to me I probably would have put some random kid snacks from my cupboard into their shoes. I imagine at this age, they would be just as pleased. I hope you are getting some rest lady!

Leave a Reply

