The Joy of Children

My joy this week has been in letting go of my idea of quiet. With two little girls in our home, there is always chatter to some degree, usually accompanied by either giggles or tears. I am coming to embrace the sound of their voices instead of allowing myself to get annoyed by the constant ‘noise’. Their little voices are just that-little. They won’t always be. I am finding joy in hearing them laugh, making them laugh and watching them grow in their relationship with one another. My girls are one of God’s gifts to me and I found joy this week in the simple act of stopping what I was doing and just watching them play, eat, sleep and grow before my very eyes.
This girl of mine just keeps growing. There is no stopping it. No slowing her down. Abigail is 11 months old today and she is starting to show us all her cheeky, curious and sweet personality. She can be found climbing things, shadowing her older sister, screeching in excitement when Ben comes home from work and snuggling into my lap to nurse when she wakes up from her naps. This tiny girl has stolen my heart and I don’t think I ever want it back. She is oh so tiny and sweet.
Lucy has the most lovely grey-blue eyes. One of them has a gorgeous speck of gold if you look really closely. It always amazes me how different our girls look and makes me wonder what our next babe will look like.
In other joyful news, Ben and I had been praying about sponsoring a child in another country and finally decided that yes it was the right and good thing to do. We chose to sponsor through Chalice starting with the new year. I was so excited when we checked the mail this morning and found we had received our package from them. Included was a picture and handwritten letter from our sponsor child, an 8 year old girl named Santusa, from Bolivia. We are so thankful for the joy that God has given us in the gift of our children, and His. I feel like my heart just grew!  
I am joining Elizabeth by taking small steps towards joy this month. Follow the link to her website to read about others who are doing the same.
7 thoughts on “The Joy of Children

  1. This is really off-topic, but I have to tell you the biggest thing I got out of reading this post:Your girls are SO beautiful, and they're SO different! I have to admit that I'm a little… not worried, exactly… but *something* about what it will be like to have a second daughter. How could another little girl be as beautiful as my first? And yet, when I see Abbie, I see that it's not only possible, but it WILL happen! Your girls encourage me. 🙂

  2. Thanks for all of your lovely comments!Our girls are indeed beautiful and very different. I was so convinced that Abigail was going to be a boy and when they announced that she was a girl, I was shocked. Although I did love her instantly, it took me a few days to get my head and heart around the idea that I now had two little princesses. I know (and I know that you know) your new little one is going to be just as special and lovely as Norah 🙂 How blessed are we? Daughters are pretty much awesome!

  3. It's amazing when we pause to enjoy life for a moment, isn't it? It's also amazing how quickly it passes us by when we don't…thanks for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

