We’re back from our little trip to visit with my sister and her family. It was a short trip, but a very good one. We arrived just in time for supper on Friday night and enjoyed some adult conversation that evening with a few glasses of wine. The following day we went to mass together, all sitting in the very front row with three busy little ones. At one point someone dropped a host during communion and the Eucharistic minister was looking for it. He leaned towards us and looked around on the floor and didn’t see it so he tried to keep going. My sister thought he was looking at all of the cheerios her son had spilled on the floor and was super embarrassed, ha ha. I looked down and sure enough among the cheerios was the host! I quickly let the man know and he looked quite relieved.
Later that day we tried to go for a walk, but that lasted all of five minutes since it was just too blooming cold to endure it. I am a wimpy girl and my face was cold. I couldn’t let my girls little faces be exposed to that wind. Lucky Jude has this super cool weather shield that attaches to his sled so he was all set.
We made homemade pizzas for supper. A Toner classic for sure.
And then once the kiddos were off to bed, the four of us set out for our double date while my mum babysat for us. We went to a place called the Pumphouse. We had their sample tray of beers, each beer about 2 oz and served in little shot glasses. It was such a cool way to try all of their different beers, one being a blueberry beer! Afterwards we went to the movies and we went to see *ahem* Never Say Never…the Justin Bieber movie. I know you’re thinking, Lammmmmmmmme..but in my defense, it was our husbands idea!! I was actually very surprised to learn that Justin is not just a singer but an awesome musician, and comes from a very difficult background and small town. I will now give myself permission to listen to his music without shame.
The next morning was St. Valentine’s day. Knowing that it would fall on a day when we were visiting, I brought red napkins and some really cute heart shaped curly straws for our drinks. We made pancakes and topped them with fruit, hot fudge sauce, whipped cream and all of that goodness. It was fun celebrating the day together and we gave the girls some new books (all in french) since it is much easier to find them in Moncton than here in Halifax.
The girls had so much fun with their cousin, Jude, and it was such a treat to spend time with my sister. I’m so very thankful that they don’t live so far away anymore! I haven’t been around here this week because we’ve been trying to get back on top of things. Amazing, isn’t it how even just a few days away from the home can completely throw off any routine of meal prep, cleaning, naps? When we got home we didn’t get a chance to get groceries and so we’ve had some very interesting meals these last few nights! Thank goodness for our freezer food. I did groceries last night finally and it is such a good feeling having food in the house again! I don’t know about your little ones, but my girls are snack fiends. Always in the kitchen trolling for something to munch on. I try to keep our morning snacks to fresh or dried fruit and a little handful of goldfish crackers or cheerios. Having so much nice fruit in the house makes me look forward to Spring and Summer produce all the more. I’m looking forward to sinking my teeth into my first fresh strawberry of the Summer….so sweet!  
I hope you all have a lovely weekend of fun, rest and time with those you love dearly! We won’t start our weekend until Sunday as per usual, but we will be keeping it low key since last weekend was adventure packed. I’m looking forward to lingering at the breakfast table over hot coffee with my hubby, a hot bath, and maybe a walk out in the woods if we get some sunny weather. Now if you’ll excuse me I have three giant loads of laundry to fold that I’ve been avoiding since we got back!
Leave a Reply

