Psalm 23

This morning as I sat in the quiet of my room reading the small steps of the day, my eyes came to the quote of the day, “The Lord is my sheperd there is nothing I lack”. -Psalm 23:1 And there you have it folks. It was only 6:25 am and God was already blowing my mind for the day. Nothing I lack, God? Not a house? Not a bigger carseat for Abigail? Not a mini van or a new couch or more time to myself or more time to pray? Really God??? Couple this with the Gospel reading of this past weekend, Matthew 6:24-34 and you’ve got,
“The Lord is my sheperd there is nothing I lack”
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink, or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds in the sky; they do not sow or reap, they gather nothing into barns, yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are not you more important than they? Can any of you by worrying add a single moment to your life-span? Why are you anxious about clothes? Learn from the way the wild flowers grow. They do not work or spin. But I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was clothed like one of them. If God so clothes the grass of the field, which grows today and is thrown into the oven tomorrow, will he not much more provide for you, O you of little faith? So do not worry and say, ‘What are we to eat?’ or ‘What are we to drink?’or ‘What are we to wear?’ All these things the pagans seek. Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides. Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself. Sufficient for a day is its own evil.”
I have forgotten too easily that my husband and I moved to Canada in 2006 with nothing but two suitcases each. Sure, I had a few memory box type things left in my closet at my parents house but we had no furniture, no car, no appliances, nothing but our love and our God to start our marriage with. That was only 4 1/2 years ago. Now we have a 3 bedroom apartment spilling over with furniture and 2 beautiful baby girls. We are so blessed and we have never truly gone without a thing that we have needed. Do we have the best of the worldly best? certainly not. I really believe that God will always give us the things that we need to continue doing His good work of loving our families and drawing them closer to Him.
“If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” Matthew 7:11
Just because God doesn’t always give us the things that we ask for doesn’t mean that He is unloving or uncaring towards us. Abigail has recently started bringing me things, little things she finds on the floor that are usually dangerous or even just toys or clothes, anything really. In the same way that I will take what she gives me and decide what is safe and good to let her have, God, as our Father sorts through the things we bring Him in prayer and decides what is safe and good for us to have in that moment.

God is not asking us to stop asking for things. In fact, He is saying, Pleaseeeeee ask Me! I long to bless you even more! I can still pray away for the desires of my heart, but it is good to remember that I should desire Him and His friendship more than anything He can give me. To love the giver of the gift just as much and more than the gift itself. So today? Today I will give thanks for the things He has already given me. The biggest apartment He could give, a husband willing to take the bus several times a week so we can keep the car, food in my fridge, two healthy girls, the process of house hunting, and the hundreds of other things I could write about if I had the time.
God is faithful, even when we can’t see what He is doing, we can be sure that He is working all things in our lives to bless and care for us. I am so encouraged by this today, that I don’t lack a thing that I truly need today and that my true desires are for Him and anything He wants to give. If he doesn’t want me to have something for whatever reason, I trust that it’s for my own good…even if I do act like a whining child about it at first. In the end, I know He loves me today and will be faithful to me in all things. Something tells me that He feels the same way about you, friends.
3 thoughts on “Psalm 23

  1. Beautiful! I was reading that same page just a few minutes after you did. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on it…I need all the encouragement I can get!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing! I love how each day God shares with me a new blessing from His Word. A verse that may have been read a hundred times speaks in a different way. That is when I know God's talking to me.

  3. It's funny to me how I have read that Psalm many times over but taking that one verse and reading it apart from the rest somehow puts more emphasis on its meaning. Thanks for reading gals!

Leave a Reply

