I Hope This Is It!

After seeing disappointing house after disappointing house, we have finally found ourselves a gem. The girls had been sick all week and it was a terrible time getting them to and from houses only to find nothing that suited us. We finally went to see a lovelyyyyyyyyy semi-detached home in Timberlea, only minutes away from the city (Seaport Market, here we come) and still within reasonable distance to Ben’s workplace. We prayed a novena to St. Joseph in hopes that he would help us find the right home for us. Our novena ended on Friday and we found our house on Monday. St. Joseph is the man!

I am trusting that there are no crazies out to get me online so I am posting the link to the house we just bought! All that is left is the home inspection next Monday which we are fairly confident is going to go really well. This house is just amazing. When you walk in it is a split level house. The 3 bedrooms, main bathroom and laundry room are downstairs and the living room, dining room, kitchen and half bath are on the top floor. There is a fenced in backyard, a shed, a good sized deck. There is definitely room for a veggie garden and plenty of room for the girls to play. It is in a subdivision which I am told has lots of children. It is actually just around the corner from the house we originally put an offer in on, i.e we can STILL WALK TO CHURCH! (until it closes and moves to the bigger location in a year or two)…but still! In the meantime we will enjoy that so much. The people that live there now have done so much work to the place, it’s gorgeous. It is move in ready. There are no carpets, no wallpaper, the paint is beautiful. The toilets are brand new low flow eco-friendly toilets, new dishwasher and all appliances included. I never ever imagined that we could find something so lovely for our price range. I feel so totally spoiled by God. He never stops surprising me that’s for sure!

Our closing date is April 28th and providing it’s all a go we will be moving in on the 29th. There is much to be done. Too much really. I’m just trusting that if we consistently do a little everyday than we will be in good shape come Easter. Thank you so much for all of your prayers, they have been felt and are very much appreciated!

I’ve meaning to share what we have taken on for this Lenten season but it never felt right to tag it onto a post. Since we are already into Lent I thought I may as well. This year I decided to pray with the girls a little more throughout the day. To do that I turned our television cabinet into a prayer bench of sorts. Each day at some point we pray a decade of the Rosary. We also come in the mornings to say good morning to Jesus and Mary. On this prayer bench is a purple cloth (my scarf) topped with a small statue of Our Lady, a crucifix, some rosaries, a few spiritual books (for young and old) and a crown of thorns which is actually just a wicker wreath I bought for 25 cents at a thrift shop. It isn’t fancy and it only cost me 25 cents, but just this gathering of holy things and placing them together creates a special place for prayer.
I can’t tell you the times I have knelt down at this bench and prayed for grace to get through the day. I typically sit in my rocking chair to pray but having a bench that is low enough for the girls to reach makes for a more family friendly prayer time. Already this lent, I have given thanks, cried, praised, begged and found strength all while kneeling at this little family altar. I found this really interesting, just scroll down to where it talks about family altars.
As I mentioned last week, I have given up facebook for lent and it is proving to be very difficult mostly with our awesome new house news that I can’t share with the rest of our friends who don’t visit this blog. Spread the word, okay? I am so grateful for the extra time I am getting to do other things in our home though. It is cleaner in here than it has been in months, and I am finally finding some new motivation to meal plan. I think this also has something to do with Spring finally being here. I hope you are seeing some signs of Spring where you are, having a really blessed lent and finding strength in Christ for this journey. Please keep those prayers coming just until everything is finalized. Thanks!
6 thoughts on “I Hope This Is It!

  1. Wow, Katie, your house is truly beautiful! And the closing date, is that the same one as for the first house? I think so… in any case, it's very soon! You must be so thrilled! I am so incredibly happy for you and your family! Wow!And having a little spot for prayer is so important, isn't it? I set up one for Advent but then never changed it up… and here it is Lent! But at least the purple still works :PAnyway I will keep your inspection in our prayers! xoxox Jenna

  2. Wow, what a house! What great news! Thanks be to God! (But can I admit I'm a little envious of your backyard? Someday I'll have one that big…)I have to say that I can imagine how difficult it is to be off Facebook – I mean, *I'M* having a hard time with you not being on! 🙂 (Since I only found out via FB, I figured I'd let you know, in case you hadn't heard yet: Christine and Liam had a little boy on St. Patrick's Day! He's still in the NICU since he was 5 weeks early, so pray for all of them!)P.S. I think I'm going to go set up a Lenten altar now…

  3. Thanks everyone! Our closing date is very soon! Just 5 weeks to get everything organized, packed and moved. We are hoping to move in on the 29th. We can't wait for everyone to come and see it!!We are pretty thrilled with our backyard and hoping to do a little veggie garden if we can get settled enough in time. Jaclyn – Ben told me about baby Quinn! He is so precious. Christine must be over the moon. I miss you on FB too!!! It's so hard not to cheat.

  4. Hi Katie, the house looks and sounds great! We lived in a home like that from the time I was a baby until high school. It sounds lovely with all of the new amentities. 🙂 I wish I could have stopped to talk today- I was rushing around to pick up food for the house. Ryan's been away since Sunday so it's been a challenge (mostly bedtime) with Natalie in the mix. Thank goodness I've had family come over and help with bedtime. I'm also missing seeing your updates on FB! It is such a great way for those of us at home to connect with others when it's difficult to get out. 🙂

  5. Can't believe I missed this post! I have been downright stalking your blog but had a crazy week so missed this post. Congrats! We'll be praying your inspection goes well. You'll be in your new house in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

