God Has A Plan

There really is nowhere to start except by saying that six days after moving into the house we got water in our basement. I know, right?? We had a pipe blocked by a build up of previous owners dog hair and other random stuff. We don’t have a water problem, it was just bad timing that it happened right after we moved in. Someone came to clear the pipe out for us but the damage was done at that point and there was water under almost all of our laminate in the basement. You could hear the water squeak when you walked on the floors. Thankfully Ben came home to help handle the situation while I kept the girls upstairs and out of the way.

We are covered by our home insurance, minus the first $1000.00 thanks be to God! Not that we have $1000 just sitting around, but at least we don’t have to pay the entire cost. The following morning they sent a contractor and some workers to tear the floors out of the hallway, our bedroom and the girls room. They also had to cut a bunch of drywall out since the moisture had started climbing the walls. They set up a huge dehumidifier to help dry out the floors and went on their way. They’ve been here a few times to take care of little things and we had someone come and measure the rooms and hallway to get an estimate for the floors. Our insurance is now just waiting on some quotes from contractors to decide who will do will do the job for less. Once that is decided I suppose they will start laying new floors. We are praying that it will be this week sometime.

I really wish I could say I handled all of this like superwoman. I wish I could say I was positive, strong and trusting that God was taking care of all this. But it wouldn’t be the truth.

The truth?

I cried. I cried and cried and cried. I chewed my lips. Bickered with my husband and wasn’t very kind to my children. Suddenly we were right back to being unsettled and bringing things back up into the living room, boxes and boxes worth. We were told that our home was ‘habitable’ for the process of changing flooring. Clearly these people don’t understand or appreciate the importance of napping children.

The past week and a bit has been spent living out of a suitcase, trying to keep the girls busy while we take care of business and praying that this rain would just end already so we can play outside and feel the hope that warm sunshine brings.

This is not how I imagined our first week in our first home. I don’t suppose anyone really sees these things coming. What has given me great comfort in the last few days has been this scripture verse:

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, says the LORD, plans for your welfare, not for woe! plans to give you a future full of hope. When you call me, when you go to pray to me, I will listen to you.”
-Jeremiah 29:11-12

I know why we had a blocked pipe but I don’t know why it happened when it did or why it happened to us. But I do know one thing. One truth. It is what I cling to when I am ready to throw in the towel.  Wanna hear it?

God. Has. A. Plan.

God’s plan is not always clear in our lives. Actually, it rarely is. It’s not always what I had in mind or what I think I needed at the time. In the moment I might cry and crumble and show my weakness and distrust in the Lord, but after a little time, a little prayer, some quiet with my husband or a hot bath, God’s peace starts to settle into my heart. Why is that?

Because I have been here before. I’ve tasted disappointment, anxiety and uncertainty and have come to the other side of it. God loves us just as we are but He loves us far too much to leave us there.

Water in our basement? God has a plan.
Hard times financially? God has a plan.
Waiting nearly 4 years for Ben’s permanent residency to come through? God has a plan.
Losing baby after baby in miscarriage? God has a plan.
My dad dying at 48 years old? God has a plan.

God is faithful. Even when I don’t feel him near, I can see his faithfulness to me when I look back at all the difficult moments of my life. I would bet that I am not alone in this.

With everything going on in the house (plus my own personal intention) I decided to start a novena to Mary, Undoer of knots. I am on day 8 and can say that it has already bore fruit. In the closing prayer of each day there is a line that chokes me up everytime and it says, “O my Lady, you are the only consolation God gives me”. I have known this to be true when I am struggling and Christ feels far away, His mother is an ever gentle presence in my life waiting with open arms to receive me. Telling Mary about the frustration of our situation and about my personal intention feels like I am talking to my own mom on the phone, which I am thankful for because my mama was in Florida last week. She is a comfort to me in the hardest of times, Mother of sorrows, she knows what it’s like to walk a hard road. She never had more than one child to deal with at a time that’s true, but she did have to stand back and watch people hate her only son and crucify Him. She is there to hold our hands when we need her.

I don’t have a poetic way to bring this post to an end. I guess I just want you to know, since we all need to be reminded from time to time, that God has a plan. He knows where we’ve come from, where we are and where we’re going. The choices are entirely up to us, we do have free will, but He is right in the thick of it with us. And His mama? She’s right next to Him (i.e right there with us)

*Please say a little prayer for us if you could, that all would happen as it should…and soon, God willing!!*

One thought on “God Has A Plan

  1. LOVE IT! Katie – Even though you might think you are not strong you are! So strong! and when I hear how strong your faith is – It makes mine stronger! I have always felt a strong need to pray to Mary – She is such a rock in my day to day life. (Along with God and Jesus. ) I was watching the passion of Christ today and I teared up when Mary goes to her son to comfort him while carrying the cross! It's the "little" bumps in the road that make us see what is truly important and the wonders that God gives us! I will be saying prayers for you and your family! (as I always keep you in them!) You have been such an inspiration in my journey to faith! so Thank You! much love, xo

Leave a Reply

