Going To Market

I’m back from my little weekend away and let me tell you, it was fantastic. I have lots to share about my two days but until I get a bigger chunk of time to sit and write I thought I would just share what the girls and I got up to this morning.

Ben and I were making a huge effort to get to the Farmer’s Market here once a week for the several months leading up to our move. It felt great supporting local farms, local people and local products. Unfortunately once we moved in, Ben needed the car a lot to get to work as we transitioned our lives and appointments closer to home. Now that we have the car a little more often we can get back on the Market wagon. Lucy is particularly fond of going and asked me if we were going to the “BIG BIG Market?” Oh yes my little dear! They opened at 8am this morning so we did our morning usual of breakfast, tidy up, get dressed and then just headed out. There are days where it’s nice to take it slow and hang out all morning but there is something fun about getting ready to go out. Even our little ones know something fun is about to happen.

I was pleasantly surprised to see how much deliciousness was in season. We bought lettuce, broccoli, mushrooms, tomatoes, strawberries, snap peas and Sunflowers. I also picked up a little case of Garrison Raspberry Wheat for my sweet hubby. A special treat since we don’t often buy beer. I’m excited to try since I tend to lean towards lighter beers with some fruity flavour.

Shelling peas makes for a great bit of fun for an almost 3 year old who claims she is doing her job. She did this for almost 15 minutes and loved every moment. We also had a great chat about how her Pappy (my dad) used to be a farmer and about how all of our fresh fruits and vegetables come from a farm.
A bit of sunshine on my table.
I hope you are all enjoying some little summer adventures. It’s a beautiful day here and I’ve got the kiddy pool all set up for when the girls get up from their nap. Gotta go enjoy the day! Be back soon 🙂
One thought on “Going To Market

  1. Considering I can actually walk to a FARM that sells produce, I have no excuse for buying everything at the grocery store. I'm going to try much harder this summer to head down the street to buy some goodies. Can't get much more LOCAL than that! :)(Also, can't wait to hear about your break. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!)

Leave a Reply

