Divine Mercy Sunday

“I demand from you deeds of mercy, which are to arise out of love for Me. You are to show mercy to your neighbors always and everywhere. You must not shrink from this or try to excuse or absolve yourself from it.

I am giving you three ways of exercising mercy toward your neighbor: the first — by deed, the second — by word, the third — by prayer. In these three degrees is contained the fullness of mercy, and it is an unquestionable proof of love for Me. By this means a soul glorifies and pays reverence to My mercy.

Many souls … are often worried because they do not have the material means with which to carry out an act of mercy. Yet spiritual mercy, which requires neither permissions nor storehouses, is much more meritorious and is within the grasp of every soul.

If a soul does not exercise mercy somehow or other, it will not obtain My mercy on the day of judgment. Oh, if only souls knew how to gather eternal treasure for themselves, they would not be judged, for they would forestall My judgment with their mercy” (1317).

Today we celebrate the Feast of Divine Mercy Sunday.  This brings me great joy for two reasons. The first because of the sweet gift of mercy Jesus has offered us in his death and resurrection. The call not only to receive his mercy but to share that mercy with others, and in that way bring people to Christ. The second reason I treasure this day so much is because it marks the second anniversary of Abigail’s baptism into the Church. This afternoon we will also be seeing the priest who baptized her.

Mercy is something I suck at, quite frankly. Receiving mercy has not come easily to me. I still shrink at the thought of going to reconciliation and so I find giving mercy just as difficult. It is something I need to work on and am being blessed with the opportunities to work on each day being a wife and mother. Mercy can be something as simple as forgiving my husband for being late before he even gets home and not chewing him out. It can be drawing my girls in for a hug when they are being crazy and I just want to yell at them until steam comes out of my ears. I take incredible comfort and strength from praying the chaplet of Divine Mercy. The words, “Jesus, I trust in You” repeated again and again become my armour and my hope that all is well and all will be well when it is in His hands. I was reminded this morning in prayer that there is no detail of my life too tiny for His concern. With that truth, I give it all to Him. The good, the bad and the ugly. Knowing He can take it, because He already has…to the cross and back again.

Leave a Reply

