Lenten Things

We had a very blessed Lent and I wanted to post some pictures of our time so that I can look back and remember that it was not all struggle. Lent is difficult for me. I suspect that it’s mostly because it is always at the tail end of Winter, which I already loathe. I assumed last year that I was struggling through Winter because Abigail was finishing nursing and I felt like an emotional wreck. I’m now seeing that I probably have some seasonal depression that I need to speak to my doctor about. It’s a dreadful feeling when you feel low and exhausted and like the sun might never shine again and you just wish you could shake it but you just can’t.  No amount of just trying to be happier seems to work for me and I expect that I may need to actually exercise to help fight the winter blahs next year.

Ben worked quite a lot throughout Lent and so the girls and I took to having our own adventures and had great fun. I would say their favorite thing we did together was when we baked Hot Cross Buns on Good Friday. We used The Pioneer Woman recipe and had great success. On Holy Saturday we spent a good chunk of the morning coloring black and white Stations of the Cross and hanging them up in our little Easter tree.

I was reminded this Lent how small I am, and how important it is that I remain that way. God is good!

2 thoughts on “Lenten Things

  1. Thank you for your post! I always enjoy it when your blog pops into my inbox. I love hearing about what you and your family are up to. 🙂 I know the feeling you are talking about (although not seasonally) and it is a very difficult feeling. I try to get out for a weekly jog 3 days a week and I find it really helps me clear my head. It’s some quiet time away from the hustle and bustle of the house- it’s like a prayer time too! Your hot cross buns looked delicious! God bless, Kim

  2. I hope things have started to get better as it has started to warm up and brighten up! I don’t often struggle with depression, but there are days when I just feel completely enveloped by it. Thankfully these days are few and far between, but it is hard to be the person you want to be, the wife you want to be, and the mother you want to be through it. I’m glad Lent had some really beautiful moments for you and your lovely family! xo

Leave a Reply

