A Christmas Baby!

These last few months have been so full and joyful that I hardly know where to begin. I haven’t been blogged since April mainly because I am pregnant! We are expecting a new sweet baby sometime around Christmas this year! I have not been feeling great but I will be 15 weeks this Thursday, and friends, it is easy to see that I am having a baby. I cannot believe how quickly I started to show this time and also how ill I have been. I have been so terribly nauseous and hungry..HUNGRY!

May turned out to be the busiest month we have had in a very long time including my birthday, Mother’s day, my sister’s convocation from university and the ordination to the priesthood of a very dear friend of mine. Ben was still working his late hours and wasn’t coming home until around 715pm every night. It was making for one very tired pregnant mama and so imagine my joy when it was decided he would be starting work earlier and finishing around 4pm everyday! My love is always home by 5pm now and it has been wonderful having him here for suppers and baths and bed. He always makes a true gift of himself to me and especially since I have been pregnant. He stayed awake late many a night making supper so that I wouldn’t have to cook the following night. What a man!

I remember seeing a series of questions/topics answered throughout my friend’s pregnancy and I thought I would do the same as a way of keeping track of it all… so, here it goes..

How far along? 14 1/2 weeks..

Total weight gain: I have no idea. I’m not sure that I want to know considering that all I have *really* eaten the last few months has been toast, crackers, cheese and glasses of milk.

Maternity clothes? Oh indeed. I think from about 10 weeks until nearly 14 weeks I only had one jean skirt and a pair of yoga pants that fit me. I finally caved and now have a maternity jean skirt, a few tank tops and a great stretchy brown skirt given to me by a lovely friend.

Sleep? A battle. Not because of my two girls but because I toss and turn all night long trying to get comfortable and it just isn’t happening.

Best moment this week: Abigail being officially out of diapers!!

Movement? I think I felt the baby move once the other morning when I was lying in bed. I am really looking forward to feeling this little one dance around. I think the girls are going to be so excited about it!

Gender? I feel like maybe boy. Only because this is the first of my pregnancies that I have been SO sick, SO tired and have actually thrown up. We’ll see in August when we have our 20 week ultrasound.

Cravings? Bread. Cheese. Salt.

Belly button in or out? In for now. I used to have a ridiculously deep belly button but that seems to have vanished over the last few pregnancies.

What I miss: Lobster and Wine. Also, sleep!

What I am looking forward to: spending more time getting to know our midwife over these next few months and seeing the baby again in the next ultrasound.

Weekly wisdom: Keep things simple. Especially supper. Make use of the BBQ and stop worrying about how much veg everyone is getting right now. Baby steps.

Milestones: Lucy has been accepted for “Les Jeux Creatifs” which is a 2 morning a week program for 3-4 year olds at the french school nearby. She is excited about it and I am too! It isn’t preschool so much as just songs and games in french to get them speaking the language and getting comfortable with it.

Β 

That’s it for this week! Happy Canada day to all of my Canadian friends out there! I hope you have a special day with family and friends enjoying good food, good drink and making memories πŸ™‚ And here’s a photo of our first trip to the beach this year, just because they are so stinking cute!

Image

One thought on “A Christmas Baby!

  1. Oy! I can’t wait to see you and your beautiful family! Remember to go ahead and indulge the salty cravings – iodine deficiency will keep you feeling ill for longer, and it’s handy that table salt is fortified. πŸ™‚ I hope you get some relief from the nausea soon. I know how miserable it is, especially when you’re still trying to be uber-mama for two littles.

Leave a Reply

