The Feast of St. Nicholas

stnick

We are still here…waiting on our little baby due December 22nd. These months have been busy and happy and challenging. There is so much to say and yet I can’t bring myself to go back and go over the last four months in great detail. I’ll just give it to you in point form…

-Lucy turned 4 years old and started going to preschool two mornings a week. It took her about a month to get used to the drop offs but now she loves going and always asks me to show her on the calendar when she is going again.

-Abigail has really come out of her shell and is talking all the time and telling the most hilarious stories.

-We bought a van! It’s turned out to be quite a lemon but we are still grateful to have a vehicle big enough to accommodate our growing family.

-We got rid of our computer sometime in September in hopes of replacing it with a laptop that just needed a new hard drive…and we have yet to purchase said hard drive. That is why the lack of updates! I can’t upload pictures anywhere right now…except this one above which Ben emailed to me from his phone.

-We got through November. I’m so glad it’s over and we can move on to Advent!!

-Baby’s room got painted and everything is all set to go..car seat, hospital bag, etc..

I was just so relieved for Advent to finally be here this year. We are excited and hopeful and waiting on our own baby and it has brought me more in tune with the spirit of Advent and not just getting all Christmas happy/crazy in November. Truth be told I just can’t get into Christmas joy or music right now..we don’t even have a tree up yet! Those of you who know me might find that surprising. Heck, I am surprised but I think the reason is that I know in my own body that Christmas is not here. Jesus is not yet born. Our baby is not yet born and so it just feels like cheating to get started on all the celebrating too soon. We like to keep our tree up until at least January 6th and with baby coming hopefully around the due date it will give us lots of opportunity to celebrate the season of Christmas as it is meant to be celebrated.

The girls really seem to understand the idea of St. Nicholas/ Santa this year and they are so cute about it. They got so excited when I reminded them about the treats he likes to leave in people’s shoes and they asked me all kinds of questions about him. It was perfect timing to dig out our book about St. Nicholas. This is a tradition that I love and look forward to each year…did your family do anything to celebrate this awesome feast day this year?? Do tell, friends!

 

2 thoughts on “The Feast of St. Nicholas

  1. My friend I have missed your blogging voice! I have been checking it basically every day for weeks and weeks… and here you are. You are on my heart this Advent, as I can only imagine the joy and connectedness you must feel to Mary as you carry your own baby so close to Christ’s birthday. I have some food planned out for you when Little One arrives, and I am taking the funny and wise advice of a midwife-friend, “Just bring her a damn casserole, ring the doorbell and run!” That is, I don’t want you to feel you need to host me. So expect some food during the octave… when presumably you will be nestled into Babymoon central!

    Many, many prayers for you today!

    1. I can’t tell you how it cheered me to read the words, “Bring her a damn casserole, ring the doorbell and run!” as I sit here wide awake at 3am AGAIN..haha! We are so incredibly blessed to have friends like you who support us and our growing family. I find myself complaining and tired a lot these days but trying to think about how Mary felt riding that donkey for days on end and probably wondering to herself, is Joseph seriously going to deliver this baby? Ha! Thank you for your prayers, keep them a’coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

