Time Flies

It’s 11pm and I’m doing that thing where I stay up too late and then look through old pictures from when the girls were two and one and it makes me emotional. The time is going too quickly. Oliver is suddenly seven months old and I just want time to stop. But it won’t. Time stops for no one and no thing. Babies grow.

If I really think about why I don’t blog more often right now.. that is my reason. Babies grow. I am busy doing my best to drink it all in.. to hug and kiss and smile and nurse and sing love over all the little Andrews babes, because they just keep growing. Lucy will be five next month and I am so not ready for that. It just makes me ache for all the times I’ve been overtired and taken it out on her or missed out on some gorgeous thing she was doing because I was too busy being selfish in some way. Some of that is just part of life. We do our very best as parents and of course we love our children but we cannot realistically be present and “on” every moment of the day. We are only human. I trust that God sees my small sacrifices and that He is the one who keeps filling my heart to bursting with all their sweetness.

Like how Oliver lights up like a Christmas tree every single time I walk into the room. Like I am the only girl in his world. The way Abigail keeps asking me at nap time to stay with her and says, “mama, would you please tickle my arm?” and sweet Lucy, always asking when we can go on a date, “just us two girls”..  So all I have to offer here is love. Me loving my kids imperfectly. Me loving my husband imperfectly. Thankfully, my God is perfect. He is the one who makes right all of my wrongs. He is the enough for all of my not-enoughs. And wow, am I thankful every single second for that.

DSCF2048 DSCF2044 DSCF2029 DSCF2028We’ve signed the girls up for their first round of swimming lessons and they start this coming Monday. I cannot wait to see them in the pool and take about five hundred pictures!! I hope you’re enjoying your summer as much as we are. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

