I Have A Secret

Today was a special day.

It was a day we have discussed at great length, prayed about and waited for with joyful anticipation.

Today was the day we added to our family.

DSCF2227

You see, my husband and I believe that each child is a precious gift from God. A beautiful, unrepeatable, perfectly unique soul in need of love, protection and care.

Now you might be thinking to yourself, “You’ve already got three children! Isn’t that enough?” And by the worlds standards, you’d be right. We already have more children than most.  Thankfully, we serve a generous God who loves to give good gifts to His children. He always wants to give us more. More love, more joy, more strength, more courage, more laughter and more babies. A whole life of more.

So I’m going to let you in on a little secret.

I actually have seven children. Each of them very precious to my heart and an important part of our family.

Before our oldest daughter came along, we lost two babies by miscarriage. We named these two children and every night as we say our family prayers we conclude with, “St. Matthew and St. Rosalie, pray for us” Those little souls sit at the side of Jesus and we know with confidence that they intercede on our behalf and watch over us as we (hopefully) grow in holiness each day.

Next are Lucy, Abigail and Oliver. These three sleep under our roof, eat at our table, laugh and play and grow between the four walls of our home each day. It is a blessing to watch them grow and see them develop relationships with each of their siblings.

Then there are our far away children. We now sponsor two beautiful little girls in Bolivia through Chalice, a Catholic Sponsorship program that is listed as one of the top-rated charities of 2013. I’ve shared about our first sponsor child, Santusa, here before and now I’d like you to meet Alejandra (photo above). She is new to our family and just a few months older than our oldest daughter. I see their beautiful faces every time I walk through my kitchen and see their pictures on our fridge and I am reminded of these words,

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” Then the righteous will answer him, “Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?” The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” -Matthew 25:35-40

We might not be able to save the world Avengers style but every single day we can be the change in someone’s life that provides them food, shelter, education, medical help and the knowledge that their life matters. For $33 a month is there some sacrifice you could make so that someone else might simply live? If you are reading this and feeling challenged, I would invite you to pray about that and ask yourself why.

Sponsoring children has connected us more deeply to those in need around us and in turn to the heart of God. My prayer is that through our example our children will grow to understand how important it is to do their part, no matter how small, in being Christ’s hands and feet in this world.


 

2 thoughts on “I Have A Secret

Leave a Reply

