End of Summer Post

We are coming to the end of the summer and as always I am pretty happy with that. It’s no secret that Autumn is my absolute favorite season. I could list off the things I love about it but I have done that many times over on this blog, I’m sure.

My mother is getting remarried in just a few short days and although I am very happy for her, there is so much emotional baggage that goes with it that I am trying to keep busy and focusing on Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

DSCF2278I am so thankful for this little cutie who lights up every time I come into view. He is God’s *hug* to me these days!!

Here’s what’s been keeping our days happy lately..

Listening: Mary Poppins Original Soundtrack …my girls are in love! Chim-chimney! and for me.. my I-need-to-cry-and-be-inspired music.

Reading: Kisses from Katie ..I just finished this the other night. It has touched my heart and challenged me in ways I never       thought possible. It’s got me praying that dangerous prayer again… show me YOUR will Lord and help me to do it! I give you my yes no matter what.  The girls have been reading anything by Elsa Beskow we can manage to check out of the library. Their favorite right now is “The Curious Fish“.

Watching: I found You’ve Got Mail at Value Village the other night and almost cried. It is “my” movie! If I ever had to identify with a character in a movie, it would be Kathleen Kelly.. this movie makes me sob every. single. time.

Eating: This weather has got me thinking about fall foods I am excited to bring back into rotation. We have a dutch oven we bought at the end of Spring last year and I am super pumped to try  cooking this chili. I am also pretty happy that it is Pumpkin Spice Latte season, I won’t lie. The girls helped me make some pretty killer cookies two weeks ago that are going to get made a lot. I just know it!  We subbed half of the butter for peanut butter.

Touching: I have GOT to sort out the mistake I made on Lucy’s birthday sweater. I’ve just got the sleeves and hood to go and just under a month to sort it all out. I’ve never knit anything so big before, but I know I can do it! It is, of course, purple.

Here’s to the end of summer, friends! It has been a full and busy time for our family. We have been very blessed to spend time with family, watch Oliver start solids and sit up on his own, the girls had their first swimming lessons, we added to our family, Oliver cut four teeth and we started preparing ourselves for our first year of homeschooling this fall. God is so good to our little family and I am thankful for all the crazy days and the fun that goes on under our roof. In all the times I prayed about my future as a teenager, I don’t remember praying for an easy or comfortable life. I prayed for love, adventure, passion, joy, laughter, and warmth. Wow, did my God deliver!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

