Giving Thanks

DSCF2365 DSCF2358

This last month has been full. Bursting at the seams with busy, happy, sometimes crazy, goodness. We got our first month of homeschooling under our belts, miss Lucy turned five (!!!!) and we made it through a whole week without my husband who flew out to San Fransisco to spend time with family visiting from New Zealand and his sister who had just had a new baby girl. There have been so many beautiful fall days here, lots of sun, lots of opportunities to get out and enjoy the fresh air without the need for hats and sunscreen. It truly is a gorgeous time of year here.

DSCF2414 DSCF2411

We were fortunate enough to spend a day out at the farm we work for per Lucy’s request. She wanted to spend her birthday there and I don’t blame her one bit. The kids got to ride on the tractor, had a look at the cows and we celebrated together her five years of life with cupcakes, a trampoline and some sweet little farm boys who bought her gifts.

I look at her now and I cannot believe she was ever tiny enough to fit in the crook of my arm. She is such a giggly, sweet and nurturing girl who is always taking her sister by the hand and doting on her baby brother.

DSCF2415

Ben took this picture of the kids and I on Thanksgiving day on our walk while we waited for our turkey to cook. It pretty much sums up the way I feel about my journey as a mom. All together heading down the same road, holding hands. I don’t want to only lead our children to Christ. I want to walk alongside them. I want them to know that I am sinner in need of God’s grace too. These five years as Lucy’s mom have stretched me further than I every thought my heart capable. I have learned so much and most of all learned that I will never stop learning. I don’t have the words to eloquently express the ways she has called me to holiness, brought me joy and changed me forever. I never knew how selfish I was until I had her. I never knew how proud I was until I had her. Holding an infant brings you to your knees in the best way possible. I love, love, love this girl of mine. Even on weekends she begs me, “can we do homeschool now?”

photo(3) photo(4) photo(5)

Happy, happy birthday sweet girl. You will always be my baby!

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Loved the words you spoke here Katie! walking alongside with our kids..our journey in faith, in life…beautiful pics… Birthday wishes and Blessings to your sweet lil girl!

Leave a Reply

