November Comes

 

image

Here we are. November. While some will celebrate Thanksgiving this month, we have already done that and what remains, for me, is the death of so many good things. Perhaps that is why I shudder every time this month approaches. My favorite season of the year is nearly over, the leaves have all fallen, the beauty of the season is fading, the light is fading and what is left is darkness.

I worry that I don’t have the courage to face that darkness…the darkness of the winter months that lie ahead and the darkness inside of me. God calls me to courage for these days, for strength to let my light burn brightly in the dark places and know he is there holding my hand. Now is the time to gather the ones I love and hold them tighter. Now is the time to always have the kettle on, to linger over meals, to sit snuggled together with our books and favorite movies, to light candles, to write letters, to give thanks for all that has been given and all that we hope to be.

image

This month will mark five years since my fathers death. I often go into complete hermit mode, shutting out all friends and good fun. I know that my father would not want this and so this year I have purposely booked up our calendar with things to look forward to. Things that will make me leave the house and stop navel gazing. No matter the sadness, God is still good and there is joy to be had. I am focusing on giving thanks daily for the little gifts each day brings by either writing them down or snapping a quick photo on my phone. This life is busy, this life is full, this life is the one He gave me. I am overwhelmed by the abundance of all of it.

DSCF2420

“November comes
And November goes,
With the last red berries
And the first white snows.

With night coming early,
And dawn coming late,
And ice in the bucket
And frost by the gate.

The fires burn
And the kettles sing,
And earth sinks to rest
Until next spring.”

-Clyde Watson

One thought on “November Comes

Leave a Reply

