Slowly Unfolding

“When a flower doesn’t bloom, you fix the environment in which it grows, not the flower.” 

My little fairy is taking her sweet time unfolding and I am grateful that she can have the gift of a slow education that is engaging her mind as well as her heart and hands and whole self. 

I won’t lie and say that it is easy all the time but I know that it’s right, despite how squirmy it makes me, so.. she sits in my lap and we work through the math. We snuggle on the couch and she fights for each word. If you have a child like this.. You are okay. They are okay. It will be okay. Life is not only for the academics. I know my sweet girl is going to have a rich and beautiful life because she is a maker. She is a beauty gatherer, always collecting things and drawing stories that she wants me to write the words out for her. 

She is doing just fine. The question that I have to keep answering is, Do I have the courage to journey slowly? It’s not an easy one to answer either because it requires trust that all will be well. It requires both diligence and patience and knowing when to leave the whole thing in Gods hands and bake brownies together instead.

Leave a Reply

